e-Authentication Types

Password based Authentication: This is the basic authentication mechanism that uses username and password. Additionally, the end-users may also provide their Aadhaar numbers on the self-registration form. Subsequently, they can login to e-Pramaan using either the chosen username and password pair or Aadhaar Number (as username) and password.

OTP based Authentication: End-users can prove their identity using an OTP (One Time Password) received on email or mobile. OTP can also be generated using a mobile application offered through e-Pramaan. OTP-based authentication will be in conjunction with any one of the single authentication types.

Digital Certificate (DSC)-based Authentication: : End-users will establish their identities using hardware or software tokens (along with PIN). This shall be accomplished using tokens in the form of digital certificates/digital signatures/smart cards already in possession of the end-user. Hardware tokens could be in the form of SIM extensions, SD cards, or USB crypto and will comply with CCA guidelines.

Biometric based Authentication: This is one of the strong authentication mechanisms provided to end-users. Biometric authentication will be conducted in accordance with Aadhaar authentication process and the end-users must possess a valid Aadhaar number in order to avail Biometric-based authentication.